Salesforce certification can be a great way to not only validate your skills and expertise, but also show potential employers that you have what it takes to succeed in the ever-changing world of sales and marketing. But with so many different certification options available, it can be tough to know which Salesforce certification to do first.

In this blog post, we’ll give you a comprehensive guide to everything you need to know about Salesforce certification, from the different types of certification available to how to prepare for and take the exams. By the time you’re finished reading, you’ll have all the information you need to make an informed decision about whether or not Salesforce certification is right for you.

What is Salesforce certification?

Salesforce certification is a process by which individuals can validate their knowledge and expertise in the Salesforce platform. There are a variety of certification exams available, covering everything from basic administration to advanced development techniques. Certified individuals often use their credentials to show potential employers that they have the skills and experience necessary to be successful in the field. 

Types of Salesforce certification

  • Administrator Certification: Demonstrates your ability to successfully administer a Salesforce org.
  • Developer Certification: Shows that you know how to develop custom applications on the platform using Apex and VisualForce.
  • App Builder Certification: Proves that you can build custom applications on Lightning Platform using point-and-click tools like Process Builder and Lightning App Builder. 
  • Consultant Certification: Demonstrates your ability to successfully consult on implementations of Sales Cloud or Service Cloud solutions. 

Preparing for a Salesforce certification exam

The first step in preparing for a Salesforce certification exam is to identify which type of exam you need to take. The best way to do this is by looking at job postings in your desired field and seeing which certifications are required or preferred.

Once you’ve determined which exam(s) you need to take, you can begin studying using a variety of resources, including official documentation from Salesforce, study guides from third-party sources, and practice exams. 

When studying for your exam, it’s important to focus on both the technical aspects of the platform as well as best practices for using it in real-world scenarios. The better prepared you are, the more likely you are to pass your exam on the first try! 

Taking a Salesforce certification exam

Once you’ve decided which exam(s) you need to take and studied accordingly, it’s time to register for your chosen test (or tests). Registration can be done online via the Salesforce website. Exams must be taken at an authorised Pearson VUE testing centre; there are over 5000 locations worldwide, so finding a centre near you should not be difficult. 

Each exam consists of 60 multiple-choice questions and must be completed within 90 minutes. There is no strict pass/fail score; instead, each question is worth one point, and candidates must earn a minimum score of 65% (39 out of 60 questions) in order to pass. Upon completion of the exam, candidates will receive an unofficial score report indicating their performance on each section of the test. 

Ready to get started?

We hope this guide has been helpful in providing some clarity around what goes into getting certified on Salesforce! Whether or not taking an official exam is right for your career goals is ultimately up to you, but we encourage anyone who is interested in further validating their skillset or exploring new opportunities within their field to at least consider it – best of luck!